Guest Reviews

Below are some reviews taken from VRBO and AirBnB with links to the sites, so you can see them there too.

Please remember there are no extra service fees when you book with us direct on this site!


Nile Lodge was pure wonder and amazement

Michael Conter

August, 2017

As we walked into Nile Lodge, we were awestruck by the pure beauty, elegance and charm of the residence. The photos are certainly descriptive, but do not adequately portray the scale and architectural elegance of this gem of a home. It is just magnificent. Each room has a unique history and story that were so wonderfully conveyed by our host, Maire. All of us were completely giddy as we toured through the home with Maire. Each room is generous in size and the four bedrooms enjoy full bathroom facilities (with linens and soap). The beds and pillows were quite comfortable and the linens were luxurious. The kitchen offers all the necessary appliances, cookware and tableware that are necessary. The kitchen is generously sized and provides plenty of prep room for meals. Although Nile Lodge exudes elegance, this is very much a warm, welcoming and cozy home. There were a couple of working fireplaces that were already prepared when we arrived. We enjoyed an evening fire each night as we played games (provided by Maire) and enjoyed wine after a long day of exploring and enjoying Galway. Our trip included our three young adult children, but we would have felt comfortable there with young children as well. This is a family home and it is clear that it has been enjoyed that way during its long history. The interior of the home is lovely, but it is accented by three splendid and large garden areas that are not to be missed. Each is unique and offer great outdoor pleasure. We enjoyed tea and drinks on the patio which had comfortable table and chairs. The back garden, with its large stone walls, had a walking path to easily enjoy the flower beds and a large center turf area to throw or kick a ball around. The front garden had a lovely variety of perennials and trees. They all offered great ideas and provided a great place to relax during the day. Nile Lodge is within a quick walk to Galway’s entertainment and shopping district (15 minutes at maximum). The bay is just a five-minute walk from Nile Lodge and a full-service grocery store is just a five-minute walk from the home. We only used our car when making extended trips, otherwise it is a pedestrian friendly area and walking to destinations was easy and preferred. The home and gardens are fabulous, but it was our host, Maire, that made this an incomparable experience. She took great care to ensure that our stay was nothing short of exceptional. Without request, she had already stocked the refrigerator with milk, juice, cheese, yogurts, fruits and tomatoes. Coffee and tea were already on hand as well as a lovely collection of breads and crackers. Additionally, she makes her own granola which was just awesome. She has a list of restaurants and pubs that she recommends and are listed in the provided mobile phone.


Nile Lodge is a once in a lifetime experience: lovely, comfortable, and in a perfect location!

Shelly Dezen

August 8th, 2017

Our stay in Galway was enhanced by staying at Nile Lodge. Our only regret was that our schedule was so full we were unable to simply sit and enjoy our environment. Set on an extraordinary property in the middle of Galway this home was welcoming, luxuriously comfortable, and convenient. Checking in and out was simple. The kitchen and laundry were highly functional and the home was spotless. My one piece of advice would be to stay an extra day in Galway so that you could enjoy this stop as a destination by itself! We walked everywhere, we wanted for nothing, and had ample space as a family of five. I feel confident asserting that this is your best option in Galway, no contest. We will be recommending it to all our friends traveling to Ireland.


Five Star Luxury with Laid Back Charm!

Jim Murray

Feb 24, 2017

I stayed here with my family for an extended memorable weekend in February. Absolutely AMAZING, u need to experience it for yourself! This elegant historic house is even more gorgeous than the website pictures and it exceeded our expectations in every way. The decor throughout was comfortable and superior to any other house we have ever stayed in including hotels - it had every amenity we could have wanted and more. The little touches were fantastic, like lots of fresh flowers and freshly made granola in the kitchen for breakfast. In the evenings, we were happy to simply hangout in the house. We lounged around on the comfy sofas listening to 'choons' and tinkled on the piano. Our hearts and lives were enriched during our stay and this was down to Maire, our fabulous host who could not do enough for us. This exquisite home from home and its surroundings are perfect for a relaxing, soothing getaway or family occasion....so close to the sea and the vibrant city centre of Galway with it fabulous pubs and restaurants. The best of both worlds! If you have the opportunity to stay at Nile Lodge, go! You will not be disappointed. We will be back!


Ideal Location in Galway!

Terry McGuire

March 31st, 2017

My wife and myself along with our son's family spent a week at Nile Lodge visiting our granddaughter who is spending a semester abroad studying at Galway University. We've stayed in many VRBO and Home Away properties over the years and we all agreed Nile Lodge was one of our best choices. This historic house is like stepping back 100 years in time yet maintaining a full level of current amenities. This property has been lovingly and expertly restored to it's original grandeur. The private garden, enclosed terrace and conservatory captures the essences of a time gone by. The property is located in the perfect spot in Galway. 15 minutes or less walking distance to the center of town or a great walk along the Salthill Promenade. So many great pubs and restaurants nearby that you'd need a month to experience all of them. Food markets, seafood shops and wine stores are all in convent walking distance. We all decided the best part of Nile Lodge and our stay in Galway was the owner Maire. She is totally delightful and charming. She was so helpful and welcoming that when we left we all said we have a new friend in Ireland. Thanks Maire, we're looking forward to our next visit.


Absoultely Amazing Home

Mary Slane

September 26th, 2016

We have rented a lot of homes, but nothing compares to Nile Lodge, which prompted me to write my first review ever. We spent the final four nights of our two week trip to Ireland with our adult children at Nile Lodge and absolutely loved it. Maire was a fabulous host who had the house stocked and gave us a tour and explained the history of the house upon our arrival. The property and grounds are gorgeous. The house is very impressive and beautifully furnished. We liked it so much we didn’t want to leave and on one evening changed our plans from meeting cousins in town to having them over to our beautiful house. My cousins (who live in Galway) knew of Nile Lodge but had never been there. They welcomed the opportunity to visit and were very impressed. The house is in a great location. We didn’t drive our car when we were there and instead walked into the city, down to the sea, and surrounding areas. It was a wonderful way to end our trip. We hope to return to Nile Lodge someday. Anyone who has the opportunity to stay at this beautiful property should grab it.


Surpassed All Expectations

Rachel Kittoe
Jul 25, 2016

Our family recently stayed at Nile Lodge for five nights and we had an amazing time. We knew from the pictures that the property was gorgeous, but we really had no idea how gorgeous until we got there. And our host, Maire, went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. She even went around the house to "baby-proof" it for our 18-month old, and provided everything we needed and more (even a few diapers!). The baby had a fantastic time, playing football in the garden and running around the common areas--he was in heaven and so were we. Our family has stayed in many VRBO's and Maire is by far the best hostess we have ever had. She gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and plenty of tips--the house is nicely located close to downtown Galway (about a 5-10 minute walk), as well as a beautiful seaside promenade where we took many beach walks--though we found ourselves loving the house so much that we ended up spending a lot of our time there! Maire pays attention to all the details that most VRBO owners miss--for example, a hair dryer in every room, and a plug-in to convert electrical appliances--so thoughtful and convenient! It was these small touches combined with the overall beauty of the place that made our stay so comfortable. We had a very special time and will remember it always. Thank you Maire!

Recommended for: People with Disabilities, Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers,


Amazing home and hostess

Maureen O'Connor
Jul 6, 2016

We just returned home from a four night stay at Nile Lodge; the end of a wonderful 2 week vacation in Scotland and Ireland. Nile Lodge exceeded our expectations in every way. The home itself is exquisite, yet warm and welcoming. The owner, Maire, could not have been nicer. She provided us with great recommendations for restaurants, pubs and places of interest to visit, but what made her really special were her stories about Galway and the history surrounding the house! She was so much fun that we spent one evening pub hopping with her! We do a lot of traveling and Nile Lodge is certainly one of the nicest places we have stayed. I hope we'll have a chance to return someday!

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers,


Grand introduction to Ireland

James Campbell
Jun 23, 2016

The Nile Lodge contained the most interesting history and was the very best appointed home that we rented. Maire is a sweetheart of a genuine lady and made our whole family very welcome. The location was perfect for our 4 day stay, as we explored the area. Everything was so clean and even fresh towels were carefully placed every other day. We highly recommend the Nile Lodge!!!

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway

 

Charming and comfortable home

Lorenzo Ribiero
Jun 2, 2016

We were two couples who recently spent a lovely week at the Nile Lodge. The home was very comfortable and wonderfully equipped. The owner, Maire, was very kind and generous with her time and with supplies for the kitchen. She was very knowledgeable about the area and helped us a great deal. The location of the home was excellent for exploring the countryside and the town of Galway itself. There was ample parking and ample space for relaxing inside and out. We will definitely return the next time we are in Ireland.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Age 55+

 

Lovely family holiday

Sarah
Apr 26, 2016

We had a lovely week staying in Nile Lodge. The house had everything we needed, and was beautifully clean, warm and homely. We were made very welcome by Maire and she was happy for our two energetic small boys to run around and explore the house. The garden was also lovely; the enclosed orchard was a perfect football pitch. We could easily walk into Galway, along the seafront and to the aquarium. It was an easy car journey to lots of other interesting places like the Burren, Glengowla mines, Connemara beaches and countryside. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Tourists without a Car, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers

 

Ireland is a charming little country and we loved spending a week in Galway! We would highly recommend staying at the Nile Lodge! My husband and I were on vacation with our 3 adult children and our home was in a great location to walk to the market, cheese and wine shops, bakeries, restaurants and downtown Galway. This historic home has a fireplace in each room, is beautifully decorated and has gorgeous patio's and gardens that you can enjoy. We had plenty of room to relax after a day of sightseeing, the kitchen has all of the amenities to cook meals and we enjoyed sitting on the porch having breakfast. We visited the Cliff's of Moher, biked around the Aran Islands, visited the Kylemore Abbey and Ashford Castle, golfed and spent time in downtown Galway. We enjoyed dining at the Kai Cafe and restaurant, Ard Bia and a quaint Italian restaurant down the road from us. Maire was a gracious host and we loved spending time with her. She had some wonderful recommendations for sightseeing, shops and restaurants. Everything was perfect in our home - We will definitely come back and visit!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers

Eileen and family

Bill and Eileen S.
Apr 12, 2016

 
HomeAway Property
Read or Write Reviews